Panasonic Professional AG-HMC40 HD Camcorder Reviews

Rating:


CHECK PRICE BELOW



Overview

Panasonic AG-HMC40 Review
This camcorder reviews site brings you mainly video camera reviews for domestic digital video cameras, but always recognize that lots of us aspire to enter the pro/am market so need to find the best HD camcorder for work of this type.

This is why we introduce to you the Panasonic Professional AG-HMC40 AVCHD camcorder to add to the range of pro/am camcorders already on the site.

There are many useful AG-HMC40 camcorder reviews by new owners, so I have written excerpts from them below:

3.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40 Review
Terrible in low light. The AG-HMC40 camcorder is superior for it’s price point. It has all the professional features you could ask for in such a small body. Panasonic AG-HMC40 review Published 1 month ago by Jeff Aski

5.0 out of 5 stars AG-HMC40 review
Great camera. I am a Certified Legal Videographer. This Panasonic Professional AG-HMC40 AVCHD camcorder is perfect for depositions or other legal video uses. It has time and date with seconds. AG-HMC40 review Published 3 months ago by Robert J. Hahn

5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40 AVCcam HD camcorder: GET MUCH MORE FOR LESS $
My husband and I run a wedding photography & videography business. We recently purchased the Panasonic Professional AG-HMC40. For the price range, this camcorder delivers excellent image quality.Panasonic HMC40 review Published 4 months ago by Viridiana Serrano

4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40. Tops except tech support
I purchased as Panasonic AVCcam AG-HMC40 camcorder as a compact HD travel camcorder. Indeed, it is a perfect size for that purpose and the images are terrific. HMC40 review Published 6 months ago by Dennis R. Whitehead

5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40. An excellent pro-sumer camcorder to start off with.
If you are brand new to professional or pro-sumer camcorders or figure its about that time to step up from your handycam days into the world of professional audio/video, there is no better “starting gate” than the Panasonic AG-HMC40. Panasonic AG-HMC40 review Published 8 months ago by Vincent P. Del Vecchio

4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40
I bought this camcorder to shoot stock footage and it does a great job. I wish it had a few more manual controls that were not done via touch screen.
AG-HMC40 review Published 9 months ago by allen

3.0 out of 5 stars AG-HMC40 review. Good camera horrible tech support
This is a excellent camcorder, professional results the whole 9 yards. But don’t expect ANY tech support, not any, mind you, you won’t get any response from panasonic. Panasonic HMC40 review Published 9 months ago by Edward Macomber Jr.

4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40.  Top of the Line for Price
My Panasonic Professional AG-HMC40 came with Berry Green’s HMC book and Edius editing software, adding an extra $250 worth of value to my investment.
HMC40 review Published 9 months ago by Tom D.

The Panasonic AG-HMC40 handheld Prosumer HD camcorders combine full HD AVCHD video recording with high-resolution 10.6-megapixel still photo capture, giving you the benefits of two professional cameras in one affordable package.

Just a quick explanation of AVCHD, Advanced Video Coding High Definition. AVCHD is a high quality H.264/MPEG-4 compression system used in many professional AVCHD camcorder models but now showing up in our Prosumer camcorder reviews and even in the high end Consumer camcorders.

With a Full HD resolution 3-megapixel, 1/4-inch 3CMOS imager, Panasonic HMC40 HD camcorders produce stunning 1920 x 1080 video in AVCHD (MPEG-4 AVC/H.264), delivering images far superior to HDV.

When used for digital still photography, the camcorder captures photos with 10.6-megapixel resolution directly onto the SD card as a JPEG image.

The camcorder can also be connected directly to a PictBridge photo printer (no PC required).

And unlike HDV tapes, video and photos can be accessed randomly and immediately from the SD card and played back on a number of consumer devices.

AVCCAM – the Industry’s Next Generation Affordable HD

Full HD Video and 10.6-Megapixel Stills — All in One Compact Camera
The Panasonic AG-HMC40 HD camcorders advanced Leica Dicomar lens system offers 12X optical zoom, wide-angle setting (40.8mm) and an optical image stabilizer (O.I.S.) feature for precise shooting.

The compact Full HD AG-HMC40 camcorders
are also packed with professional video and audio features (HDMI out, date/time stamp, remote zoom, XLR option, etc.).

High Definition Performance, Standard Definition Price
Using high-capacity SD memory cards, Panasonic AG-HMC40 HD camcorders provide hours of beautiful high definition recordings at professional level bit rates. They record in a range of 1080 and 720 formats with all four professional AVCCAM recording modes:
PH mode (average 21 Mbps/Max 24Mbps),
HA mode (approx.17 Mbps),
HG mode (approx.13 Mbps),
HE mode (approx. 6 Mbps).


AVCCAM offers the benefit of a fast, file-based workflow using widely available and reasonably priced SD memory cards.

* HD formats: 1080/60i, 1080/30p, 1080/24p (Native); 720/60p, 720/30p, 720/24p (Native)
* Three newly designed 1/4.1 Progressive 3MOS Imagers for full HD resolution
* 12x Leica Dicomar lens (13 elements in 10 groups), 43mm filter, zoom range of 40.8 – 490mm (35mm equivalent)
* Extremely slow, smooth zoom for the precise control needed for dramatic sequences
* Time date stamp enables shooting legal depositions or surveillance
* Long record time: 3 hours with included battery (7 hours continuous with 5,800mAh Battery)
* Remaining battery time readout in minutes so shooter is warned (Info Data Secure Battery)
* 3-second pre-record function captures the shot from the beginning
* Shooting assist functions: focus expand, focus bar and Face detection in Auto Mode
* Waveform monitor helps with luminance for green screen where lighting has to be evenly distributed
* Professional interface with HDMI out, Component Out (mini D terminal), Composite Video Out and RCA Audio Out
* Additional features include: three user set buttons, time code (DF, NDF, REC RUN, FREE RUN) and USER BIT, two scene files, auto functions (Auto Focus, Auto White Balance and Auto Neutral Density)
* Connects directly to PictBridge photo printers
* 2.7-inch 16:9 Touchscreen LCD display (Just touch the thumbnail for playback)
* Manual and remote control connection for Zoom, Focus, Iris, Start/Stop functions (similar to HMC150). Focus ring can also be used for Iris and Zoom
* Min. Illumination: 1 lux, (F1.8, Gain: +34dB, Slow Shutter: 1/2 sec.)
* Syncro Scan Shutter, 60i- 1/60-1/250, 30p- 1/30-1/250, 24p- 1/24-1/250
* Selectable Gammas & DRS Dynamic Range Stretch
* Lightweight, yet durable, design with removable handle
* Optional AG-MYA30G Professional XLR adapter available (features audio inputs with +48V Phantom Power, Mic/Line, Attentuation, Ch 1&2 or Ch2, Level Controls and Mic Holder (8 pin push on precision connector)
* Edius Neo 2 edit software included in carton (Through March 2010)

* Panasonic Professional AG-HMC40 AVCHD HD camcorders carry a 3-Year limited warranty. (1 year + 2 extra years upon registration)

Product Features
HD formats: 1080/60i, 1080/30p, 1080/24p (Native); 720/60p, 720/30p, 720/24p (Native)
Three latest design 1/4.1 Progressive 3MOS Imagers for full HD resolution
Long record time: 3 hours with included battery (7 hours continuous with 5,800mAh Battery)
Touch Panel 2.7 inch Widescreen LCD displays Thumbnails & Audio Metering
HDMI out, Component Out (mini D terminal), Composite Video and Stereo Audio Out with included cable

Technical Details
Brand Name: Panasonic
Model: AG-HMC40PJU
Media Type: Flash card
Lens Type: Zoom lens
Optical zoom: 12 x
Maximum Aperture Range: F/1.8-2.8

Shooting Modes:
Digital photo mode
Video Input: Camcorder
Display Size: 2.7 inches
Optical Sensor Resolution: 3.05 MP
Optical Sensor Technology: 3CMOS
Optical Sensor Size: 1/4.1″
Viewfinder Type: LCD
Height: 5.3 inches
Weight: 2.2 pounds
Depth: 12 inches
Width: 5.4 inches

More Customer Panasonic AG-HMC40 review
5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40 Good replacement for the canon GL2
Many Videographers who shoot weddings may be wondering how the Panasonic HMC40 holds up for wedding videography. Read more
Panasonic AG-HMC40 review Published 2 months ago by Mindtek

3.0 out of 5 stars AG-HMC40 Terrible in low light
The HMC40 is superior for it’s price point. It has all the professional features you could ask for in such a small body. Read more AG-HMC40 review Published 4 months ago by Jeff Aski

2.0 out of 5 stars Great Panasonic AG-HMC40, but has a huge weekness
This Panasonic AG-HMC40 camcorder is as sharp as it gets, handles well and is easy to use, however is has a huge weakness. I find it horrible in low light situations. Read more Panasonic AG-HMC40 review Published 6 months ago by Daniel Fried

5.0 out of 5 stars AG-HMC40 Great camera
I am a Certified Legal Videographer. This Panasonic AG-HMC40 camcorder is perfect for depositions or other legal video uses.
It has time and date with seconds. Read more AG-HMC40 review Published 6 months ago by Robert J. Hahn

5.0 out of 5 stars HMC40: GET MUCH MORE FOR LESS $
My husband and I run a wedding photography & videography business. We recently purchased the HMC40. For the price range, this Panasonic AG-HMC40 camcorder delivers excellent image quality, both in… Read more Panasonic AG-HMC40 review Published 7 months ago by Viridiana Serrano

1.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40 Bad pixel out of the box.
I received this AG-HMC40 camcorder today and on my first look I found a bad pixel. This must be a reject product that Amazon is selling. Read more
AG-HMC40 review Published 8 months ago by seagullfilm2008

4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic HMC40 Tops except tech support
I purchased as AG-HMC40 as a compact HD travel camera. Indeed, it is a perfect size for that purpose and the images are terrific. Read more
Panasonic AG-HMC40 review Published 9 months ago by Dennis R. Whitehead

5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40 An excellent pro-sumer camcorder to start off with…
If you are brand new to professional or pro-sumer camcorders or figure its about that time to step up from your handycam days into the world of professional audio/video, there is the Panasonic AG-HMC40… Read more AG-HMC40 review Published 11 months ago by Vincent P. Del Vecchio

4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40
I bought this AG-HMC40 camcorder to shoot stock footage and it does a great job. I wish it had a few more manual controls that were not done via touch screen. Read more Panasonic AG-HMC40 review Published 12 months ago by allen

3.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic AG-HMC40 A good camera horrible tech support
This Panasonic HMC40 is a excellent camcorder, professional results the whole 9 yards. But don’t expect ANY tech support, not any, mind you, you won’t get any response from panasonic. Read more AG-HMC40 review Published 12 months ago by Edward Macomber Jr.

Still not found that perfect HD video camera to suit your needs best?

If you are still committed to the PANASONIC  Brand of HD camcorders, we have more PANASONIC HD camcorder reviews on this site of HD camcorder reviews./strong>

If your search for the perfect digital video camera is led by BRANDS, one click link navigation will take you to the HD Camcorder BRANDS page on this site where there are reviews of more than 16 different brands of the best digital camcorders available today.

Finally, you may wish to broaden your search for the HD video camera of your choice by taking a look at what the rest of this HD CAMCORDER REVIEWS site to read all of the HD camcorder reviews and formats on offer from the best digital camcorders available today.

Our one click link navigation on this page takes you directly to selections by FEATURES,PRICE, FORMATS, and other BRANDS you may want to check out.

We are constantly updating this site of HD camcorder reviews, keeping the prices up to date, and bringing you the latest HD digital video camera news, so you may like to bookmark us and/or subscribe to our RSS feed on the top right corner of the page in the address bar.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Product Specifications

Brand:panasonic
Model : AG-HMC40PJU
EAN Code :

HD formats: 1080/60i, 1080/30p, 1080/24p (Native); 720/60p, 720/30p, 720/24p (Native)

Three latest design 1/4.1 Progressive 3MOS Imagers for full HD resolution

Long record time: 3 hours with included battery (7 hours continuous with 5,800mAh Battery)

Touch Panel 2.7 inch Widescreen LCD displays Thumbnails & Audio Metering

HDMI out, Component Out (mini D terminal), Composite Video and Stereo Audio Out with included cable

Reviews

>Reviews of the Panasonic Professional AG-HMC40 HD Camcorders at Amazon.com
Average Rating:5
R. Rivera Rating: 5 Stars out of 5

5 out of 5 stars camcorder to date So, I was thinking of "going tapeless" for awhile now. I've had a Sony HVR-A1 basically since it came out, and it's served me well, but tape has been such a drag. Read more Published 3 days ago by David B. Haynie


5.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic does it again Having used the AG-DVX100 in its various incarnations, Panasonic has established itself as THE price to performance leader in this price range, and the latest models do not... Read more Published 21 days ago by Brad Wilson


5.0 out of 5 stars Professional Camcorder Very difficult to get started because Booster software had to be ordered and mailed. The Serial No. on the camera is not the Serial No. used to register the product. Read more Published 1 month ago by M. Everest


5.0 out of 5 stars Best camera in it's price range I've owned this camera for about two months now and I believe I've found the holy grail as far as the best quality picture producing camera in it's price range. Read more Published 2 months ago by M. Lozano .... Read more


2,433 views