GoPro HD Hero 960 Camera Camcorder Reviews 2010

Rating:


CHECK PRICE BELOW



Overview

GoPro HD Hero Helmet camera review


The HD HERO 960 Helmet cam features the same professional grade 960p, 720p and 480p (WVGA) video & 5MP timelapse photo modes, and incredible sound recording system as its big brother, the original HD HERO video Helmet cam.

Missing from the HD Hero 960 high definition camcorders are 720p @ 60fps, 1080p video, and the HERO BUS expansion port in the rear of the camera that will let you take advantage of the Go Pro forthcoming BacPac accessories – LCD screen & Battery Extension – both important features for filmmaking hobbyists & professional videographers that are compatible with the original HD HERO camcorders for sale.

User reviews of the GoPro HD Hero 960 Helmet camera

GoPro HD Hero 960

GoPro HD Hero 960



Before I write my review of this great action cam, read what some new owners of the GoPro HD Hero 960 camera have to say about their new toy:

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero.  Near Perfect, December 27, 2010 GoPro HD Hero review by Barry L. Borell “MaskedMike” (Florida) This review is from: GoPro HD Hero (Electronics)

I see no reason to splurge and get the 1080 version of this camera. The Hero 960 takes amazing fisheye style footage. The GoPro HD Hero 960 camera is much smaller than I was expecting, which is a good thing since I’ll be wearing it on my head. The head strap works really well but the mounts given will no allow for great footage looking back at your face.

However, the headstrap and mount are perfect for POV recording. The only reason I do not say this item is absolutely perfect and just near perfect is that it does not come with a good users manual. I had to look up online how to use the 
GoPro Hero HD video camera in the upside down mode. If you can figure out all of the functions for this Hero 960 camera you
are going to love it.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Great Camera, Awesome results, December 21, 2010
GoPro Hero HD camera review by Aarash Fakhori (AZ) (REAL NAME) This review is from: GoPro Hero camera (Electronics)

This is the Little brother to the GoPro HD (1080p) the major difference is the lack of 1080p recording and the lack of 720p @60fps. For what it is, and the GoPro HD Hero price point it’s at is great. Crisp clean videos, the best low light video you can get without a flash or external light.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Really fun, high quality camera, February 16, 2011 GoPro Hero review by Bobby Dunn “The Cyclops” (SE KY) (REAL NAME) This review is from: GoPro HD Hero 960 camera (Electronics)

I do video production and photography for a living and also into motorcycling and water sports. I had considered one of these cameras, but figured I would be disappointed in the quality. I had a coupon and got it pretty cheap so I went ahead and pulled the trigger and was really impressed by the quality.

If Planet Earth on Blu-Ray is a 10, then this thing is capable of at least a 7. I have shot a Canon 5D MII and think this Hero 960 is better as far as sharpness. The videos you see loaded up on Youtube never look good, so its hard to tell much about this kind of stuff.

I took the raw video from the Hero 960, loaded it on a hard drive, hooked it to my WD HD player and ran it through my 42″ Panasonic HD TV and it looked amazing. Even on my dirt bike on really nasty, rocky trails it looked great and because the lens is so wide it looks pretty smooth.

I can’t wait until boating season to mount this GoPro HD Hero  on my jet ski and wake board. Also I hope I can get back to mtn biking after a crappy winter and try some there as well. I really like the perspective of the GoPro Hero 960 camera for what I will be doing, so I saw no point in spending the extra money for the 1080, and I have heard that the 1080 had issues of freezing up, but that may have been resolved in firmware.

Another nice thing is that accessories for the GoPro HD Hero are reasonable, even batteries are only $20 unlike what my other cameras charge 2x that for something similar. The GoPro Hero camera also comes with a lot of goodies, enough to keep you busy for a while.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro 960 HD camera, January 24, 2011 GoPro Hero HD reviews by ahagen73
This review is from: GoPro HD HERO Camera (Electronics)

This is an awesome product! I had an older GoPro that was standard definition but the GoPro HD Hero blows it away! The video is outstanding and even has good sound quality. GoPro has gotten on the ball with firmware updates that resolved problems that i encountered with my old one. I would absolutely recommend the GoPro Hero camera for anyone who is into action sports or motorcycle riding as it will allow you to have incredible video of your adventures!

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Great camera, March 15, 2011 GoPro  Hero review by mithomas80 This review is from: GoPro Hero HD Camera (Electronics)

I got this GoPro HD Hero camera for snorkeling in the Caribbean and it worked great! The wide lens also allowed us to take some awesome pictures out of the water. Great deal and Im glad I saved $150 on the GoPro HD Hero 960 camera instead of the 1080.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro Hero HD. great product, February 17, 2011 GoPro HD Hero 960 camera review by shane This review is from: GoPro HERO Camera (Electronics)

I took the 
GoPro HD HERO 960 to a depth of 100ft on a reef of Turks & Caicos. works great. only downside is no display on back to see what you have recorded. highly recomend this product.

I guess that let’s you know this GoPro Hero HD camera is pretty special, but you will want to know all the features anyways, so read my full review below:

GoPro HD HERO 960
Developed for professional use, but at a consumer price, the HD HERO 960 wearable digital video camcorder captures full HD video rivaling cameras costing 10x the price.

How? Our team consists of some of the the brightest minds in Silicon Valley who also happen to be obsessed with outdoor sports, race cars, and all things moto. Athletic super geeks? Indeed. So whenever you are shopping to buy a HD camcorder for outdoor action recording, this could be the cheapest and best camcorder for you.

GoPro 5MP Photos, Automatically
The HD HERO 960 video camera can shoot hands-free, 5 megapixel photos automatically at  2 / 5 / 10 / 30 / and 60 second intervals until the batteries die or the SD card is full (2.5 hours). Or set it to single shot, triple shot, or self timer for more traditional photo taking.

GoPro HD Audio Excellence
We’ve invested more in the GoPro 960video camera sound system than most companies spend on their entire camera development. You’ll only be hearing the sounds of your sport, not the howl of the wind. How? Obsessive audio engineering and an understanding that good sound is as important as good video.

Go Pro HD Rechargeable Lithium-Ion, Built in Battery Warmer
The rechargeable 1100mAh lithium-ion battery (included) lasts for 2.5 hours of constant recording. It can be recharged to 80% capacity in just 2 hours when plugged into a computer’s USB port, or in 1 hour when plugged into a USB compatible wall or car charger.

This digital video camcorder can also be used while charging…handy on road trips where it’s fun to leave the camera rolling. The HD HERO 960 video camera also features an integrated battery heating system for keeping your battery warm in winter activities.

GoPro Shockproof, Bombproof, Waterproof to 180’ / 60m
Don’t let a little water, or even a ton of water get in the way of getting the shot. Proven in heavy surf from Hawaii to Tahiti, Southern Mexico to Northern California, GoPro 960 high definition camcorders can handle it thanks their highly engineered polycarbonate exoskeletal housing.

Waterproof to 180’ / 60m and tough enough to take a spin across the asphalt, the GoPro 960 is built to take a beating. Replacement lens kits are also available for $20, so there’s little worry of scratching the tempered glass lens while going for glory. Trash the housing in a massive crash? Replacements are available for $40. It’s a GoPro…go for it.

GoPro Professional Quality, Full HD Video
* 960p: 1280×960 Ultra Wide and Tall HD featuring a 170º angle of view, 30 fps, and 4:3 aspect ratio. See more of the action above and below than widescreen16:9 resolutions can show.
* 720p: 1280×720 Ultra Wide HD featuring a 170º angle of view, 30fps, and 16:9  widescreen aspect ratio

GoPro Camera Optics
* Lens Type: Fixed Focus (2ft/.6m – ?), glass
* Aperture: f/2.8 (high performance in low-light situations)
* Angle of View: 170º ultra wide angle in WVGA, 720p, or 960p mode

GoPro Video
* HD Video Resolution Modes: (subject to change, pending final firmware release)
o 960p = 1280×960 pixels (4:3), 30 fps, 12 Mbit/s data rate
o 720p = 1280×720 pixels (16:9), 30 fps, 8 Mbit/s data rate
o WVGA = 848×480 pixels (16:9), 60 fps, 8 Mbit/s data rate
* Sensor Type: 1/2.5″ HD CMOS, 2.2µm-sized pixels
* Light Sensitivity: Super low-light sensitivity (>1.4 V/lux-sec)
* Video Format: H.264 compression, saved as Windows- & Mac-compatible MPEG4 (.mp4) file
* Exposure Control: Auto with user selectable center weighted average and spot metering settings
* White Balance: Auto

GoPro Audio
* Microphone: Built-in, mono with AGC (automatic gain control)
* Audio Format: 48 kHz, AAC audio compression

GoPro Photo
* Resolution: 5 megapixel
* Capture Modes: Single shot, photo every 2, 5, 10, 30 or 60 secs.; 3 photo burst; self-timer

Go Pro Storage
* Memory: SD card, up to 32GB capacity (SDHC)
* Average recording times (using 32GB SD card):
o 960p (30 fps): 5h 26m
o 720p (30 fps): 8h 09m
o WVGA (60 fps): 8h 09m

Go Pro Camera Connectors & Cables
* PC Connection: USB 2.0 (data connection and battery charging)
* HDTV Out: HD NTSC & PAL (component cable incl.)
* Audio Out: Combo 2.5mm jack with stereo audio and composite video out
* PC Compatibility: Windows® Vista or Windows® 7; Mac OS® X 10.4.11 and later

Go Pro Power & Battery
* Battery Type: Rechargeable 1100 mAh lithium-ion
* Battery Life: Approx. 2.5 hrs
* Charging: via USB to computer or optional power adapter
* Charge Time: 80% capacity after 1 hour with optional power adapter; or 2 hours with a computer’s USB port

Waterproof Camera Housing
* Depth Rating: Up to 180 feet / 60 meters
* Construction: Polycarbonate and stainless steel
* Hardware: Stainless steel

Go Pro camera Size & Weight
* Dimensions (H x W x D): 1.6” x 2.4” x 1.2” (42mm x 60mm x 30mm)
* Weight: 3.3oz (94g) incl. battery, 5.9oz (167g) incl. housing

Go Pro camera Optional Accessories
* Additional Rechargable 1100 mAh Lithium-Ion Battery (not yet available for pre-order)
* Full Line of Mounting Accessories

Go Pro camera Technical Details
* 720p and 960p HD resolutions
* 5 Megapixel Digital Photos
* Included are two adhesive mounts, a helmet front mount and a headlamp-style head strap

What’s Included with the Go Pro camera:
* 1 HD HERO 960 video camera
* 1 Rechargeable 1100 mAh Lithium-Ion Battery
* 1 Waterproof Quick-Release Housing (180′ / 60m)
* 1 Curved, 3M™ Adhesive Mount
* 1 Flat, 3M™ Adhesive Mount
* 1 Helmet Front Mount
* 1 Headlamp-Style Head Strap
* 1 Quick-Release Buckle
* 1 USB Cable
* 1 Component Video Cable (HDTV)
* 1 Composite Video Cable + Audio Out Cable
* Warranty: One Year



There are so many more great customer GoPro HD Hero 960 camera reviews:


5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Love the camera!!!, April 8, 2011
GoPro Hero HD review by DWolf This review is from: GoPro HD HERO 960 Camera (Electronics)

I bought this GoPro HD Hero helmet camera to use while riding MX, trails, etc… I’m totally blown away with the quality of not only the picture, but also of the sound. I hooked this to my HD TV at home and could not believe the all around quality. The Hero 960 is easy to use, well built and rugged. I took some roost on a MX run and while you could actually slow down the video and see the dirt bounce off the lens, it didn’t scratch or cause any sort of issues… This is a great product and you won’t be disapointed.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Its everything!, April 2, 2011
GoPro HD Hero camera review by Giovanni Papinni (Home) This review is from: GoPro Hero HD (Electronics)

Hi Fellas, well all i can say about GoPro HD Hero camera is that i purchased a great product to record my Longboard Downhill and Freeride videos mainly, So far i feel very stoked about it and enjoying the High quality in the product since the packing to the amazing ammount of menu options, and clear crystal pics and vid in a 170 degree view!.

I am a person who likes detail and that is exactly what i got from my GoPro Hero 960 camera since i unpacked it…A lot of accesories and awesome manufacture in each one of them, hands down, am sure this thing will last for ever, that is my sensation about it.

One last thing is: I will get another Go Pro for my wife to use as well…since we ride together :) Thanks a lot
PS: The delivery guys were in time and very serious about the purchase, thanks guys! and the camera cost is unbeatable!!! Giovanni.

4.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Decent but not for Night Action, April 1, 2011
GoPro HD Hero review by Soulster (US) This review is from: GoPro HERO (Electronics)

Have been recording night with events cheap cameras from ebay. Decided to move up to a GoPro Hero HD to get a consistent recording experience, especially since it was touted as having a large image sensor for greater sensitivity. It was crap in a not very brightly lit venue.

From a couple of daytime tests the results were great. It justs did not work for my intended purpose. The lens is vulnerable and hard to clean if used without the casing.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Good camera for radical sports, but could be better for normal users, March 31, 2011 GoPro HD Hero camera review by G. Carneiro (São Luis-MA, Brasil) (REAL NAME)

This review is from: GoPro HD HERO (Electronics)
The GoPro HD Hero camera is light and small, even smaller than I was imagining. In my point of view, this Hero 960 is totally designed to be used in radical situations, but for the “normal users” (anyone who won’t climb mountains, dive or bike) it’s not so comfortable to use, for instance, it doesn’t have an LCD to show the pictures, it doesn’t have an easy way to setup, by the way, it’s configuration is similar to an old digital watch, the buttons to film and take pictures with the box are so hard to shoot.

But, as I said, if you want an equipment strong enough to handle radical/outdoor adventures, the GoPro Hero HD is the right camera! If you are looking for a camera only to take pictures under water, try another equipment!

4.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. To know before you buy., April 22, 2011
GoPro HD Hero review by Bert (Memphis) This review is from: GoPro HD HERO (Electronics)

The Memory Card seems not included. When selling an item it should be in working order. Without the Memory Card the Hero 960 is useless. At least it would be good to add the need to purchase a Memory Card in the Product or Technical Description to prevent negative surprises. Or selling the Camera for a bit more and with, let’s say a 2GB SD Card would allow the buyer to use it immediately.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. great price/performance point, March 31, 2011
GoPro HD Hero reviews by R. Young (PA, USA) (REAL NAME) This review is from: GoPro HD HERO 960 Camera (Electronics)

I’m going on a trip and need an underwater camera. This Hero 960 is small and looks to be just the thing. It is easy to operate and takes good video. The GoPro HD Hero price is amazing for what it can do.

5.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Great alternative to the full GoPro, December 20, 2010
GoPro HD Hero review by Marcelo Abrusio (ORLANDO, FL, US) This review is from: GoPro Hero HD (Electronics)

The GoPro HD Hero camera does the same, if you’re not using 1080p like myself…
960p is good enough to me. Great price…I am GoPro fan already.

4.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero. Where’s the kaboom?, January 29, 2011
GoPro HD Hero 960 camera review by VolFan (NH) This review is from: GoPro Hero HD (Electronics)

There was supposed to be an earth shattering kaboom!
I bought this GoPro HD Hero for my 13 year old son, who uses it to make videos doing tricks in the terrain park. With the GoPro HD Hero helmet mount, he reminds me of Marvin the Martian. The curved adhesive mount is the one most often used, as the Hero 960 helmet strap tends to sip. Good video quality, but adhesive mounts break easily.

Still not found that perfect video camera to suit your needs best?

If you are still committed to the GoPro Brand of camcorders for sale, we have more GoPro Camcorder Reviews on this site.

If your search for the perfect digital video camera is led by BRANDS, one click link navigation will take you to the Camcorder Reviews BRANDS page on this site where there are reviews of more than 16 different brands of the best digital camcorders available today

Finally, you may wish to broaden your search for the video camera of your choice by taking a look at what the rest of this CAMCORDER REVIEWS site has to offer.

Our one click link navigation on this page takes you directly to selections by FEATURES,PRICE, FORMATS, and other BRANDS you may want to check out.

We are constantly updating the site of camcorder reviews, keeping the prices up to date, and bringing you the latest digital video camcorder news, so you may like to bookmark us and/or subscribe to our Feedburner

end of GoPro HD Hero Helmet camera review


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Product Specifications

Brand:GoPro
Model : CHD96-001
EAN Code :

720p and 960p HD resolutions

5 Megapixel Digital Photos

Included are two adhesive mounts, a helmet front mount and a headlamp-style head strap

Reviews

>GoPro HD Hero 960 Camera at Amazon.com
Average Rating:
R. Rivera Rating: Stars out of 5

Recent Customer Camcorder Reviews


Average Rating:
R. Rivera Rating: Stars out of 5


.... Read more


2,216 views